Over 71% polling recorded in final phase of Jharkhand Assembly elections

The Fifth and final phase of Jharkhand Assembly elections passed off peacefully in 16 constituencies spread over six districts of Sahebganj, Pakur, Dumka, Jamtara, Deoghar and Godda districts of Santhal Pargana region.

The Counting of votes will take place on 23rd December. Jharkhand Chief Electoral Officer Vinay Kumar Choubey said that 71.17 per cent voting was recorded.

Mr. Choubey said, the figure is likely to increase after getting a final figure from respective presiding officers.

AIR Correspondent reports that a large number of people exercised their right of franchise fearlessly in the five Naxal-affected constituencies of Borio, Barhait, Litipara, Maheshpur and Sikaripara.