Nepal’s President Bidya Devi Bhandari relieves all seven Governors

Nepal’s President Bidya Devi Bhandari has relieved Governors of all seven provinces of the country.

According to a press statement issued by the President’s Office, the Governors have been relieved as per the constitutional provisions on the recommendation of cabinet.

The Governors were appointed in January 2018 after first-ever provincial elections in the Himalayan nation.

Nepal adopted federalism after the promulgation of new constitution in September 2015.

First time in the history of the country elections for seven provincial assemblies were held in two phases on 26 November and 7 December 2017.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here