LSG polls in Kerala to be held in three stages on December 8, 10, 14

Local Self Government election in Kerala will be held in three stages on December 8, 10 and 14, the state election commission said. The counting of votes will be held on December 16.

Stage 1 – December 8
Thiruvananthapuram, Kollam, Pathanamthitta, Alappuzha and Idukki

Stage 2 – December 10
Kottayam, Ernakulam, Thrissur, Palakkad and Wayanad

Stage 3 – December 14
Kasaragod, Kannur, Kozhikode and Malappuram

The election notification will be issued on November 12. The election will be held by strictly following COVID-19 protocol. The election will be held in such a way that the new administration committee will take charge by December 31, clarified state election commissioner V. Bhasakaran.

“Elections would be held to 1,199 local bodies which include 941 gram panchayats, 152 block panchayats, 14 district panchayats, 86 municipalities and six corporations. The time of polling would be from 7 am to 6 pm,” said Bhaskaran.

He said that all the electronic voting machines will be ready by November 10.

The total electorate stands at 2,71,20,823 which includes 1,29,25,766 males, 1,41,94,825 females and 232 transgenders.

If not for the Covid pandemic, the newly elected civic bodies had to be in office by November 11.

Meanwhile, welcoming the poll announcement, the three rival fronts have expressed confidence that they will win.

Left Front Convenor A. Vijayaraghavan said they have nothing to worry about as they have the confidence of the people who have benefitted under the Pinarayi Vijayan government.

State BJP president K. Surendran said it’s now just a question of time as the BJP will emerge as the biggest gainer when the counting of votes is over.

The Congress-led UDF convenor M.M. Hassan said the Vijayan government is completely swamped under various scams and corruption scandals and people are just waiting to vent their ire against this government.