Last day for filing nominations for Polls today; Delhi all set to fire up

Today is the last day for filing of nominations for Delhi Assembly Elections. Scrutiny of nomination papers will be held tomorrow, while names can be withdrawn till Friday, 24th January. BJP and Congress released the second list of candidates yesterday.

BJP announced candidates for 10 assembly seats including New Delhi, Delhi Cantt, Rajouri Garden, Shahdara and Kalkaji among others. Sunil Yadav will be the party candidate from New Delhi seat. There are two women candidates in the list, Sumanlata Shaukeen from Nangloi Jaat and Kusum Khatri from Mehrauli.

Congress announced seven new names in its list. It has fielded Romesh Sabharwal from the New Delhi Assembly seat against AAP convenor and Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal. The party has given four seats, Burari, Uttam Nagar, Palam and Kirari to its alliance partner RJD.

BJP has forged an alliance with JDU and LJP in Delhi and decided to give three seats to them. JDU will contest on two seats and LJP on one. BJP ally Shiromani Akali Dal yesterday said it will not contest the Delhi Assembly elections.
AAP convener Arvind Kejriwal will file his nomination papers today.

There are around one crore 47 lakh voters in Delhi. Election for 70 Assembly seats will be held on 8th of next month. Counting of votes will be taken up on 11th February.