Campaigning Intensifies for Assembly Polls in Haryana, Maharashtra

Campaigning intensifies in poll-bound Haryana and Maharashtra as senior party leaders hold a number of rallies. In Haryana, Prime minister Narendra Modi today addressed a rally at Charkhidadri. Speaking at the public meeting Mr Modi said India is moving fast on the path of development. He said that the government has taken various steps in the national interest.

In Maharashtra, the Bharatiya Janata Party today released their party’s poll manifesto, Sankalp Patra, in Mumbai. Among other things in the manifesto, the BJP has promised to create one crore jobs for the people in the state.

Some key promises in the 16-point Sankalp Patra by the BJP include making state drought-free in coming years, a Marathwada Water Grid will be made by joining 11 dams, five Lakh Crore rupees investment in infrastructure, introducing preventive and curative health care in the state.

In addition, ambit of scholarships and financial support is to be increased in education, homes to all homeless by 2022, workers to be brought under social security net, independent mechanisms for permanent repair and maintenance of all roads to be created through the Chief Minister’s Gram Sadak Yojana.

Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis while speaking at the launch of the manifesto said after elections, the party will take the PMC Bank issue to the Centre. He said the party will request the Centre to help depositors get their money back and added he will personally be following up the matter.

Moreover in Maharashtra, there seems to be a straight fight in a majority of constituencies in Vidarbha region between the two alliance of the top four parties during the State Assembly elections. In some constituencies, independents, rebels and smaller parties would make them multi-cornered fights.

Vidarbha region of Maharashtra which consists of 62 seat total of 272 candidates have remained in the fray. The main battle is between BJP-Shivsena and Congress- Nationalist Congress party (NCP) alliance. Smaller parties like Bahujan Samaj Party(BSP), Prakash Ambedkar -led Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi(VBA) and Aaam Aadmi Party may give a tough fight to both the alliances in the three-way contest. Rebels from all four major parties would be a tough task for both alliances.

In North Nagpur, where BSPs State President Suresh Sakhare is pitted against sitting BJP MLA Milind Mane and Congress candidate Nitin Raut. In Nagpur South constituency, former Deputy Mayor and present BJP Corporator Satish Hole put a challenge to BJP official candidate Mohan Mate. Former Shivsena MLA from Ramtek Ashish Jaiswal is contesting as an independent against official candidate of BJP candidate Mallikarjun Reddy.

In Gondia, BJPs rebel Vinod Agrawal, who is contesting the election as independent against BJP official candidate and sitting MLA Gopaldas Agrawal. Gopaldas Agrawal has switched his loyalty from Congress to BJP.

Elections for Haryana and Maharashtra assemblies will be held on 21st of this month while counting will be taken up on the 24th.

(With inputs from AIR News)

Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /var/www/html/wp-content/plugins/free-comments-for-wordpress-vuukle/includes/commentbox.php on line 18