Two Congress MLAs in Gujarat quit ahead of Rajya Sabha polls

In a setback for Congress party, two of its MLAs have tendered their resignation ahead of the Rajya Sabha polls for four seats scheduled to be held on June 19 in the State.

Congress legislators Akshay Patel and Jitu Chaudhary met Gujarat Assembly Speaker Rajendra Trivedi on Wednesday and handed over their resignations. Patel represented Karjan seat of Vadodara, while Chaudhary had won from Kaprada seat of Valsad.

The BJP has fielded three candidates, while Congress has fielded two, paving difficulty for the Congress to win the second seat.

A total of 7 Congress legislators have now resigned when in March, five of them had tendered resignations days after the elections were announced.

Notice: Undefined variable: vuukle in /var/www/html/wp-content/plugins/free-comments-for-wordpress-vuukle/includes/commentbox.php on line 21

Notice: Trying to get property 'settings' of non-object in /var/www/html/wp-content/plugins/free-comments-for-wordpress-vuukle/includes/commentbox.php on line 21

Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type null in /var/www/html/wp-content/plugins/free-comments-for-wordpress-vuukle/includes/commentbox.php on line 21