Polling progressing peacefully for first phase of Jharkhand assembly elections

The polling during the first phase of Jharkhand Assembly elections is underway peacefully in thirteen constituencies spread over six districts Chatra, Palamu, Gumla, Garhwa, Latehar and Lohardagga amidst tight security arrangements.

An estimated over 27 per cent of electorates have exercised their franchise till 11 a.m. Polling will conclude at 3 p.m.

The electoral fortune of 189 candidates including 15 women candidates will be decided today. Important candidates whose fate will be decided are Health Minister Ramchandra Chandravansi, State Congress Chief Ramesh Oraon and former Minister Dadai Dubey, Bhanu Pratap Shahi, Radha Krishna Kishore and Kamlesh Singh.

Most of the constituencies where polling is being held today are in Naxal infested areas. The Special Police Observer Mrinal Kant Das is monitoring the polling process. The border along Odisha, Chattishgarh, Bihar, West Bengal and Uttar Pradesh has been sealed to stop infiltration. Patrolling has been intensified and combing operation is on to nab anti-social elements. Four helicopters have been pressed into service for air patrolling. One helicopter has been stationed at Ranchi airport for any emergency

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has urged the people of Jharkhand to turn out in large numbers and cast their votes in the on-going assembly polls in the state.

In a tweet, Mr Modi appealed to the people to vote in large numbers and enrich the festival of democracy.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here