Padma Awards 2020: Arun Jaitley and Sushma Swaraj get second-highest civilian honour

Government announced 141 Padma Awards on the eve of 71st Republic Day. The list comprises of 7 Padma Vibhushan, 16 Padma Bhusan and 118 Padma Shri awards. 34 awardees are women and 18 foreigners. 12 persons are awarded posthumously.

Former Union Minister George Fernandes, Sushma Swaraj and Arun Jaitley will be awarded Padma Vibhushan posthumously. Pejavara math seer late Vishveshateertha Swamiji will be awarded Padma Vibhushan posthomously. former Prime Minister of Mauritius Anerood Jugnauth and Boxer MC Mary Kom will get Padma Vibhushan.

Former Chief Minister of Goa Manohar Parrikar and Legal luminary and educator N R Madhava Menon will be conferred Padma Bhushan posthumously. Eminent Writer Manoj Das, Shuttler P V Sindhu, industrialist Anand Mahindra will get Padma Bhushan.

Footballer Oinem Bembem Devi, Film Director Karan Johar, Actress Kangna Ranaut will get Padma Shri.

Several unsung heroes like Jagdish Lal Ahuja, Javed Ahmad Tak, Tulasi Gowda, Mohammed Sharif, Satyanayana Mundayoor, S Ramakrishna and Yogi Aeron have been selected for Padma Shri.