No special status for J&K; split state into three UTs

It is a historic day for India. Home Minister Amit Shah on Monday announced in Rajya Sabha that the government has decided to revoke Article 370 of the Constitution which grants special status to Jammu and Kashmir. Shah said: “I am presenting the resolution to revoke Article 370 in Jammu and Kashmir except the first clause 370 (1).”

The government has also decided to trifurcate the state into two Union territories – Jammu and Kashmir, which will have a legislature, and Ladakh, which will be without a legislature. Shah said this had been done in view of constant threats of cross border terrorism.

The UT of Ladakh was a long pending demand of the people of the region and the decision was aimed at fulfilling the aspiration of the local population, Shah said.

Shah’s announcement triggered massive uproar in the Rajya Sabha with opposition MPs protesting in the Well of the House. Angry PDP MPs created dramatic scenes.