Nitish Kumar to be sworn-in as Bihar CM today

The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) partners which met on Sunday at the CM’s official residence at 1, Anney Marg, chose Nitish Kumar as the next chief minister of Bihar.

BJP MLC and Nitish Kumar’s deputy, Sushil Kumar Modi was elected as the leader of the BJP legislature party while Tarkeshwar Prasad has been elected as the leader of the BJP in the Bihar assembly.

Kumar will return for a consecutive fourth term as chief minister and will be sworn-in on Monday (November 16) at 11:30 am at Governor’s House in Patna. He will take oath as the CM for the seventh time on Monday.

The formal announcement of Nitish Kumar’s as NDA leader in Bihar came after a meeting which was attended by senior NDA leaders in Patna.

Kumar was elected unanimously at the meeting in the presence of defence minister Rajnath Singh, who was appointed as an observer by the BJP central leadership.

After Nitish Kumar was elected as legislature party head, Nitish Kumar said that he did not wish to be the Chief Minister of Bihar but wanted someone from BJP on the chair. Nitish Kumar said that he accepted the position as BJP wanted him to take the CM’s chair.

In the recently concluded Bihar assembly elections, the BJP had won 74 seats, JD-U 43, while eight seats were won by two other NDA constituents. The NDA combined won 125 seats, which is three more than the majority mark in the 243-strong Bihar assembly.

The RJD, led by 31-year-old Tejashwi Yadav, emerged as the single-largest party with 75 seats. The opposition alliance won 110 seats.

The Bihar governor dissolved the assembly on November 13.