Karnataka to ban cow slaughter

Following the pace of a few states that have prevented slaughtering of cows, Karnataka government is also preparing to bring back the Prevention of Cow Slaughter and Preservation Bill, 2012, indicate reports.

To learn various aspects of the law officials from the State will be sent to Gujarat and Uttar Pradesh to study similar laws in those states, Animal Husbandry Minister Prabhu Chauhan said here on Friday.

“Many states have passed the Anti cow slaughter bill, we’re preparing to implement it in Karnataka as well. State govt will soon implement a ban on cow slaughter, sale & consumption of beef on the lines of many other states,” said the minister.

Telangana, Assam, Bihar, Delhi, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha, Punjab, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh and other states have implemented the Anti-Cow Slaughter Act, he said, adding that Karnataka too will implement it stringently soon.