CPM ministers including Pinarayi Vijayan to contest Assembly polls, report

Majority of the CPM members in the state cabinet, including Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan, will contest the assembly polls.

CPM has plans to field the ministers without considering the party’s conditions even though an official announcement is yet to be made.

Meanwhile, there is uncertainty regarding the candidacy of one minister, who has recorded poor performance. It is learned that the CPM will shift him to the party committee.

Usually, the CPM shifts its members, who have won the polls twice, to the party system. But this time, the party leadership has planned to ensure maximum number of seats by avoiding such conditions. Just like ministers, some MLAs will also be allowed to contest the polls again.

So far, the party has not begun discussions on candidacy or seat division due to the Assembly session. Meanwhile, the CPM state leadership has received some reports on the political situation in districts.

The CPM state secretariat meet on Friday will start discussions regarding candidates and other matters related to the polls. Leaders of the allies have been summoned for a meeting at Thiruvananthapuram on January 27.

Though there was uncertainty about fielding ministers TP Ramakrishnan and M Mani due to their health problems, the party has decided that the two must enter the foray to ensure victory in their respective seats.

Meanwhile, CPM has decided to field new candidates in seats where the party is confident of victory. Ministers, who are not contesting the polls would be given charges in the party to ensure active participation.

In some constituencies, the party would field the incumbent MLAs based on public support.