Counting of votes for Maharashtra, Haryana Assembly polls to begin this morning

Counting of votes for Maharashtra and Haryana Assembly polls will begin this morning. Counting will also take place for 51 Assembly seats and two Lok Sabha constituencies spread across 17 States. The Lok Sabha seats are Samastipur in Bihar and Satara constituency in Maharashtra.

Voting for the 288-member Maharashtra Assembly, 90-seat Haryana Assembly and by-polls to the 51 Assembly seats and two Lok Sabha constituencies was held on Monday. In Maharashtra, the Election Commission has deployed over 25,000 personnel for counting which will begin at 8.00 AM. Postal ballots and Electronically Transmitted Postal Ballots will be counted in the first hour, followed by counting of votes from EVMs. A total of 3,237 candidates are in the fray.

For the Satara Lok Sabha seat, the fight is between BJP’s Udayanraje Bhosle and NCP’s Srinivas Patil. AIR correspondent reports that counting will take place at 269 places spread over 288 constituencies. In Haryana, 90 strong rooms have been established at 59 places in the state. The counting of votes will take place amidst tight security.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here