Bypoll Results: BJP wins 16 seats and Congress 14; LNJP, NCP retain their LS constituencies

In Assembly By-polls, held on 51 Assembly constituencies in 17 states BJP has won 16 seats and Congress 14, while in Lok Sabha by-polls Lok Jan Shakti Party and NCP retained their constituencies.

The two Lok Sabha seats where the election was held are Satara in Maharashtra and Samastipur in Bihar. LJP candidate Prince Raj has won Samastipur Parliamentary seat defeating Ashok Kumar of Congress by over one lakh votes.

In Satara Shriniwas Patil of NCP is leading by 85 thousand votes.

In Uttar Pradesh, all 11 results have been declared on which by-polling was held. BJP has won 7 seats of Gangoh, Lucknow Cantt. , Iglas, Manikpur, Balha and Govindnagar seats. On Lucknow Cantt. seat Suresh Chandra Tiwari defeated SP candidate Major Ashish Chaturvedi by over 35 thousand votes. Samajwadi Party has won 3 seats of Zaidpur, Jalalpur and Rampur seats. Party candidate Dr. Tazeen Fatma defeated her closest rival Bharat Bhushan of BJP. of the Candidate Gaurav Kumar has won Zaidpur Assembly seat. He defeated BJP candidate Ambrish with the margin of over 4 thousand votes. Apna Dal Sonelal candidate Rajkumar Pal has won Pratapgarh seat.

Results have been declared for all 5 seats in Bihar. RJD has won 2 seats while JDU, AIMIM and Independent have bagged one seat each.

In Gujarat, out of six assembly seats where by-polls were held result for 5 has been declared. Congress and BJP have won 3 seats each.

In Punjab, results for all 4 Assembly seats have been declared. Congress has won 3 seats of Phagwara, Mukerian and Jalalabad while Shiromani Akali Dal has bagged Dakha seat.

In Assam, all for results have been declared. BJP has won 3 seats while AIUDF has got one.

In Himachal Pradesh, BJP has won both the seats. Vishal Nehria has won the Dharamshala assembly seat. He defeated Independent candidate Rajesh Kumar by over 6700 votes. Reena Kashyap has won the Pachhad Assembly constituency defeating Gangu Ram Musafir of Congress.

In Pudducherry, Congress candidate A John Kumar has won the Kamaraj Nagar seat.

In Kerala, results for all 5 seats have been declared. Congress and CPI (M) have won 2 seats each while Indian Union Muslim League has got 1 seat.

In Arunachal Pradesh, independent candidate Chakat Aboh has won the lone Khonsa (West) Assembly by-poll.

In Tamil Nadu, AIADMK has won both Vikravandi and Nanguneri seats. Muthamilselvan has won Vikravandi seat defeating Pugazhenthi of DMK by over 44 thousand votes, while V. Naryanan has won Nanguneri seat defeating R Manoharan of Congress.

Telangana’s lone seat Huzurnagar has gone to the ruling TRS candidate, S Saidi Reddy. He defeated Padmavathi Reddy of Congress by over 43 thousand votes.

In Sikkim results of all three assembly bypolls have been declared. BJP has won 2 seats and Sikkim Krantikari Morcha has bagged one. Chief Minister and SKM President Prem Singh Tamang has won the Poklok Kamrang seat. Tamang could not contest the last assembly elections due to his disqualification owing to the conviction in a corruption case. The victory also takes the ruling SKM’s tally in the 32-member Sikkim legislative assembly to 19. BJP candidate Sonam TSH Venchungpa has won Martamrumtek seat defeating Nuk Tshering Bhutia of Sikkim Democratic Front. BJP candidate Y.T. Lepcha has won in the Gangtok assembly by-poll.

In Madhya Pradesh, Congress candidate Kantilal Bhuria has won the lone Jhabua seat. He defeated Bhanu Bhuriya of BJP.

In Rajasthan, Rita Choudhary of Congress has won Mandawa Assembly seat and Narayan Beniwal of Rashtriya Loktantrik Party has won Khinwsar.

In the by-elections to Bijepur assembly constituency of Odisha, BJD candidate Rita Sahu has won. She defeated BJP’s Sanat Gartia. Bijepur by-poll was necessitated after BJD Chief Naveen Patnaik vacated the seat.

In Chhattisgarh, the lone Chitrakot Assembly seat has gone to Rajman Venjam of Congress. He defeated Lachhuram Kashyap of BJP by over 17 thousand votes. The lone Assembly seat in Meghalaya went to Balajied Kupar Synrem of United Democratic Party.