BJP announces names of 14 candidates for K’taka Assembly by-polls

In Karnataka, BJP has announced the names of 14 candidates for the State Assembly by-polls scheduled to be held on 5th December.

While 13 candidates are from among 16 former Congress and JDS MLAs who joined the party yesterday, disqualified Congress legislator from the constituency, R. Roshan Baig has been denied ticket from Shivaji nagar.

Former corporate M. Saravana has been given ticket from Shivaji Nagar. The candidate for the Ranebennur constituency yet to be announced.

Yesterday, 16 disqualified MLAs were inducted in BJP in the presence of Chief Minister B.S. Yediyurappa. They were disqualified by the Speaker ahead of trust vote in Assembly. The Supreme Court on Wednesday upheld the disqualification of the 17 MLAs but allowed them to contest election.

Meanwhile yesterday JD(S) announced a list of 10 candidates. Congress has released the first list of 8 candidates.

Fifteen out of the 17 constituencies represented earlier by these MLAs will be going for by-polls. By-election to Maski and R R Nagar constituencies have been withheld, as separate cases with regard to them are pending before the High Court. The counting will take place on the 9th of December.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here