Allahabad HC dismisses election petition against PM Modi

The Allahabad High Court on Friday dismissed the petition that had challenged Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s election from the Varanasi Parliamentary constituency.

Justice Manoj Gupta passed the order on an election petition filed by Tej Bahadur Yadav, a dismissed CRPF constable, alleging that his nomination papers were wrongly rejected by the returning officer. He had filed his nomination papers as Samajwadi Party candidate.

Dismissing the plea, Justice Manoj Gupta held that petitioner Tej Bahadur Yadav was not a candidate in the elections. Therefore, he had no locus standi to challenge the election of a candidate who was declared successful in the polls, the court observed.

Earlier, Satyapal Jain, a senior Advocate appearing on behalf of Prime Minister, submitted that the plea was not maintainable under Order 7, Rule 11 of the Civil Procedure Code and Section 86 of the Representation of the People Act as no cause had been explained and there was no allegation of malpractice.

Notice: Undefined variable: vuukle in /var/www/html/wp-content/plugins/free-comments-for-wordpress-vuukle/includes/commentbox.php on line 21

Notice: Trying to get property 'settings' of non-object in /var/www/html/wp-content/plugins/free-comments-for-wordpress-vuukle/includes/commentbox.php on line 21

Notice: Trying to access array offset on value of type null in /var/www/html/wp-content/plugins/free-comments-for-wordpress-vuukle/includes/commentbox.php on line 21