AAP retains power in Delhi; PM Modi congratulates Arvind Kejriwal

Aam Aadmi Party has retained power in Delhi for the third time. The Party has won 50 seats and is leading in 12 seats in the 70-member Assembly elections.

BJP has bagged 6 and is ahead in 2 constituencies. The contest is between AAP and the BJP with Congress nowhere in the reckoning. Among the AAP leaders who won the elections so far include Raghav Chadha from Rajinder Nagar, Rakhi Birla from Mangolpuri, and Ajay Dutt from Ambedkar Nagar.

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal is leading in New Delhi constituency, while his deputy Manish Sisodia is leading in Patparganj.

Among Sitting BJP MLAs, Om Prakash Sharma has retained Vishwas Nagar seat while Vijender Gupta is leading in Rohini.

Celebrations broke out at AAP headquarters as trends showed that the party heading towards a comfortable majority. AAP office was decorated with blue and white balloons and big cut-outs of party Convenor Arvind Kejriwal.

Counting of votes is progressing smoothly amid tight security at 21 centers. The counting began at 8 this morning with postal ballots. The votes cast through electronic voting machines (EVMs) were taken up after that.

Each EVM consists of a ballot unit, a control unit and a voter-verifiable paper audit trail (VVPAT). After counting of votes through control units from every assembly constituency, five VVPATs will be randomly selected and they will be counted. 62.59 per cent voter turnout was recorded this year, five per cent less than 2015 assembly polls.

The counting centers are located across 11 districts, including at CWG Sports Complex in east Delhi, NSIT Dwarka in west Delhi, Meerabai Institute of Technology and GB Pant Institute of Technology in southeast Delhi, Sir CV Raman ITI, Dheerpur in central Delhi, and Rajiv Gandhi Stadium in Bawana in north Delhi.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated Aam Aadmi Party and Arvind Kejriwal for the victory in the Delhi Assembly Elections. In a tweet, Mr. Modi wished them the very best in fulfilling the aspirations of the people of Delhi.

BJP president JP Nadda today said that his party accepts the mandate given by the people of Delhi and it will play the role of a constructive opposition. He congratulated Aam Aadmi Party for its victory in the Delhi assembly election.

Another party leader and Union minister Prakash Javadekar congratulated Aam Aadmi Party over its victory in Delhi Assembly Election.

Senior Congress leader Rahul Gandhi also congratulated Delhi Chief Minister, Arvind Kejriwal for his victory. Another party leader Randeep Singh Surjewala said, Congress accepts the defeat and vowed to rebuild at the grassroots level in the National Capital.

CPI-M General Secretary, Sitaram Yechury also congratulated AAP. He said people’s mandate is befitting reply to BJP’s divisive agenda.

Meanwhile, Delhi Lieutenant Governor Anil Baijal today dissolved the Sixth Legislative Assembly of the National Capital Territory of Delhi. A new order will be issued for the formation of the Seventh Legislative Assembly after the final results.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here