A New Dawn in Kashmir; New UTs Jammu-Kashmir and Ladakh come into existence

All arrangements are in place for the swearing-in ceremony of the Lieutenant Governors of two new Union Territories, Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh.

Radha Krishna Mathur will take over as Lieutenant Governor of the Union Territory of Ladakh at a swearing-in ceremony being held at Sindhu Sanskrit Kendra in Leh. He will be administered the Oath of Office by Chief Justice of Jammu and Kashmir High Court Gita Mittal. Later, Justice Mittal will fly to Srinagar where she will administer the Oath of Office to Jammu and Kashmir Lieutenant Governor-designate Girish Chandra Murmu.

The swearing-in of Radha Krishna Mathur and Girish Chandra Murmu coincides with the National Unity Day to mark the birth anniversary of the country’s first home minister Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel, who is credited for the merger of over 560 states into the Union of India.

The State of Jammu and Kashmir ceased to exist at midnight last night in line with The Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act, 2019. The two Union Territories came into existence following the August 5th decision of Parliament to bifurcate Jammu and Kashmir.
On that day, Parliament also took a historic decision to abrogate Article 370 of the Constitution, which earlier gave a special status to Jammu and Kashmir.

The total number of states in the country will now be 28. The total number of UTs will go up to nine.